Surviving Summer Vacation

6 Jul

This is  week 3 of summer vacation, by now routines should already be set (new bedtime, eating schedules, etc.) and plans for how to entertain your little ones for the rest of the summer should be in order. Wait, did I say the rest of the summer? LOL I know there are mom’s out there that do plan, but for the rest of us, here are a few ideas to help you survive summer vacation. Right now I have a house full of sick kids, so the plans for the river or park are out (at least for a few weeks).  Also, I have a family of 7 on one income….this means BUDGET!!

I usually try to find free things to do in my community (bowling, movies, concerts in the park, library, etc), google has a ton of information, just type “free things to do” then the name of your town. If you want to stay home because of the heat, crayons and construction paper will be your new best friend,  the dollar store has water color paint and different crafts to keep your kids busy as well. I always find when the kids have nothing to do, they get into trouble, a bored child will drive you crazy…I know somebody knows what I am taking about.

Also, if you have chores that the kids can help you with, LET THEM HELP!!! I usually have about two loads of laundry to fold everyday. Throw the laundry in the middle of the floor and have everyone pick out their clothes to fold, if you have toddlers this is a good way to form good habits and teach them responsibility. Another thing that is helpful for me is, Randomly throughout the day, I will say, “stop what you are doing and pick up one thing off the floor”. This will help with the never ending mess that you have when all the kids are in the house at the same time, 24 hours a day 7 days a week. A baseball team does not win because of only one player, it is a team effort. Remind your family of this often:)

Finally, after the first week of being home from school my kids were already tired of eating what we could afford, PB&J, Mac and cheese, or Bologna sandwiches. There is a program offered by the school that provides breakfast and lunches to kids from age 1-18 during summer months. Luckily I live right next to the school so if the kids don’t feel like eating a PB&J for the 100th time they can get a hot meal from the school. Kids eat free and adult meals are around $3, what a fun way to eat lunch with your kids, and not have to cook, or clean up the mess. The school libraries are usually open, grab a few books and get their noodles thinking, I can not stand to look at my kids laying on the couch watching TV all day. Get them out and active if possible.

If you are reading this, it means you are “surviving summer vacation”

Mona

5 Responses to “Surviving Summer Vacation”

  1. Aubrey Dunn July 7, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Awesome ideas friend! Im lovin your new blog:)

  2. Tory July 7, 2011 at 2:13 am #

    Can I just say I love these ideas! I can’t wait to read more! I will have awhile to wait until Evie is ready to do some of these because she is only 14 months old. I’m inspired!

    • monapinonmomof5 July 7, 2011 at 3:36 am #

      You can start now Tory, help Evie pick up her toys by using your hands to guide her hands in the right directions…by no time she will know where her toys go:)

      • Tory July 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

        I think she knows where they go, but she would much rather pull them all out again lol. One time I was picking her toys up and she came from the next room watched me until the last one was in. Then when I was finished she pulled everything back out again and left. I just laughed. Giving her the toys and guiding her is a good idea. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

