Taking time for me…

7 Jul

 

What is that noise? Is this a dream? Am I really having a conversation with myself? I am literally trying to figure out, if I am dreaming or if its really time to wake up? I hear my husband get into the shower, this means I have 20 minutes before I have to start my day. A day filled with 5 little people needing my help, wanting conversation, or a hug to help them not feel sad. I know if I play my cards right, I can sneak out of the room without waking my two sleeping angels. If I am successful, I will have about an hour to myself, an hour to do nothing if I want, oh what a victory for me, if I can make my husband breakfast without waking up the rest of the house. Today, I will take time for me…

So many mom’s today are overwhelmed and frustrated with the day to day tasks of raising children, part of the reason is they are not taking time out of the day to recharge. How can a person survive giving everything of themselves and never replacing? In order to take care of the family that God has entrusted to you, you must first take care of you. Having 5 children, there are some days when taking care of me, means stepping out of the house for a few seconds to gather my thoughts. On days like today, I drank my hot cup of coffee  (till the last drop, not microwaved for the 10th time), uninterrupted and got to count my many blessings.

What happens when things don’t go as you planned? What if you never got to make that cup of coffee? Don’t let a few bumps in your morning determine the rest of your day. I believe its all in your attitude, if you tell yourself enough that your situation is awful and unfair, in no time you will believe that you are the only one in the world how is having a bad day.  A good way to change your thinking or your attitude  is by staying grounded in the word of God. The past few weeks I have made this my number one priority during my “taking time for me”, and I have notice a change in my attitude and the way I respond to difficult situations.

“Taking time for me” can mean different things to different people, this totally depends on your season in life, remember you will not always be where you are. Your kids will grow up and you will be left with the memories you created with them, you will look back and be satisfied or you will have regret. Choose today, to take time for yourself, read a book, take a walk, sit in your quite house and stare at the walls if you want. Recharge yourself!!!! 

If you are reading this, you are taking time for …

 

Mona:)

 

 

 

One Response to “Taking time for me…”

  1. Tory July 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    “Your kids will grow up and you will be left with the memories you created with them, you will look back and be satisfied or you will have regret”. This is my great motivation today! I want more memories!

Leave a Reply

