Lead by example…

13 Jul

After reading a book about Curious George with his sister Anna, my 3 year son Isaac said to me. “Mama, we should pray for Curious George”. Why is that? I ask.  “Because he hurt himself and he is in the hospital, do you remember when I was in the hospital, and you prayed for me?  “Out of the mouth of babies and infants, you have established strength because of your foes, to still the enemy and the avenger“( Psalm 8:2). Isaac being born with cancer, and living his first 10 month of life in the hospital, knows all about prayer.  I truly believe that God  uses our children to show us He is faithful to keep His promises. He also uses them, to remind us that we are being watched, our kids look up to us, and depend on us to make good choices.

I have made some poor decision  the past few years as far as leading by being a good example, I became very lazy with my walk with God and it showed. I stopped reading my bible, and would only pray when my son was having his cancer scans. In my heart I knew this was wrong, but I didn’t want to work on my relationship with Christ. I not only noticed a change in my behavior, but my children’s as well, I would get frustrated with them because they knew right from wrong. Oh, I bet God was just as frustrated with me, I mean, I knew right from wrong too. In his faithfulness, HE met me where I was and showed me grace and compassion.

I think as mom’s we have the greatest job in the world, to nurture our children into a relationship with Christ. If your kiddo’s see you praying during a hard time in your life, they will know to pray and have the faith that the situation will change. Remember to be aware of the example you are setting for your children. Be careful for the words you let come out of your mouth, a few times I have asked for forgiveness from my children because I was harsh with my words. “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (Ephesians 4:29)

Lead by example, everyday is a chance for change…

Mona

3 Responses to “Lead by example…”

  1. Aubrey Dunn July 13, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    I have to remind myself more often that my kids are always watching me. Thanks friend for writting this it makes me think and to try harder to be a better mom.

    • Mona Pinon July 13, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

      Friend, you don’t have to try harder at being a better mom. You are the most selfless mom I know…

  2. Tory July 13, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    This really helped Sergio and I examine what we really teach Evelynn. I loved reading this!

Leave a Reply

