Anonymous…

29 Dec
The Book:)

The Book:)

Gifts given to the kids from the young people at Grants Pass High School.

Gifts given to the kids from the young people at Grants Pass High School.

Monday’s are my usual, “git-r-done” days, you know? De-funk the house from a busy weekend of having the whole family home, I don’t usually leave my pajamas until my older boys get home from school. Today was no different, minus the fact that I woke up late because a tree hit a power line and our electricity went out. I did my usual sweep and mop of the whole house, folded my piles of laundry, and wait for my husband John to come home from his morning appointment with the doctor (he had surgery last month and went for a check-up and the approval to return to work full-time). I got a text message, “I am on full duty”. Part of me was sad because I really enjoyed the extra time with my man, the other part was relieved, bills just don’t pay themselves. I went on with the rest of my day and later received another text message from a friend that she had something for me. I was very curious, I have been friends with this person for about a year, we both are members of the PTA and she was by my side the whole time we were fundraising for the playground. It could have been a number of things, but my thought was that she had a donation for Blue Slide. So the envelop that sat on my table and my Monday lead me to tell you a story of blessings, one of tragic events and hope…

To be honest, the last month or so of my personal life has been a bit challenging. None of what I am saying is a complaint, but rather and thanks for what God is doing in our lives. Balancing family, fundraisers and trying to figure out how to make a dollar from 15 cents was just about to push me over the edge.  To make matters worse, my brother who I admired and loved with all my heart suddenly passed away. My other worries seemed to fade, I was ok with him being in heaven but my heart was shattered.  The selfish part of me wanted him here, he gave the best advice and was the most forgiving person I knew. Since moving to Oregon 3 years ago, we grew closer, spending any extra time we had together. After his passing my friends pulled together and arranged meals, one Saturday I woke up to a knock on the door and table full of grocery’s including toilet paper. I cried because we were on our last roll, I was so busy with my brother’s memorial, going to the store slipped my mind. God always knows exactly what we need, and I have to say he is never late.

When I wanted to fret, I reminded myself that my family was already taken care of, my hope was not in myself, or man but in God. Little by little He provided and each time I became more humble then the first. Our children’s entire Christmas was given to us, we were able to get them the things we had planned before John’s surgery.  The donations made to our family were very appreciated, at times I felt guilty and undeserving but I was told that this was my time to “receive”. The envelope, well it gave me a whole new perspective it was left anonymously at the school with a note to my friend giving her instructions. Inside the envelope was $50 and a book, titled “I Wish For You, Gentle reminders to Follow your Heart”. I read through the reminders in tears and called my friend and we both cried, I told her how I was looking for signs from my brother and how this book was given to me at just the right time. It was marked on a reminder that read, “When your world feels like its falling apart, I hope your friends, family, and faith are the bonds that hold it together”. Words directly from God, I know!

There is a “time” or a season for everything, one day I wish to be the anonymous person to bring hope to someone who’s life was shattered so instantly. To be used by God to carry out the good news to those who are hurting, to live for more than just myself, to be His hands and feet. I refuse to waste anymore time on this earth. I will live for what matters, letting go of bitterness and unforgiveness because I don’t want to live in the past getting the same results. I want to be sensitive to those around me, looking for opportunities to help, and knowing when it is my time. I hope this makes sense to more than just me. I started to write this a few weeks ago but “life” happens. Be blessed, our God is good and wants the best for us, in tragedy there is always hope…

Lord I pray for those who are reading this today, God bring healing to a broken heart, hope and help us all to live like it’s our last day on earth, no regrets! In Jesus name, AMEN

These scriptures have helped me the most, hope they encourage you whatever you may be facing:)

” God is our refuge and strength and ever-present help in trouble” Psalm 46:1

“Do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord, no matter what happens. Remember the great reward it brings you!  Patient endurance is what you need now, so you will continue to do God’s will. Then you will receive all that he has promised.” Hebrews 10:35-36

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build,a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance”. Ecclesiastes 3:1-4

Mona

Visit http://www.facebook.com/TheBlueSlideProject for more information on the playground.

Leave a Reply

