My Challenge…

25 Feb
Me and my brother David

Me and my brother David

I recently had to get on a scale and face the damage. I knew I was overweight but it was easier for me to accept that this is just the way I am. Struggling with weight my whole life, I bought into this lie. It wasn’t until December when my brother David passed away at the young age of 47, that I realized I needed to make life changing decisions when it came to my health. Not only for myself, but for my husband and 5 children who are only eating what I give them. I don’t ever want to put them in the situation to see me, like I had to see my brother.

It is heartbreaking knowing the past 5 years of cancer were not only catching up to me mentally and emotionally but physically as well. I have gained over 80 pounds, losing some and gaining it back double. I get motivation, then something tragic happens and I am unable to balance weight-loss and the situation. To be honest, there was a time I was fearful of trying to lose weight, I associated my weight-loss as a trigger for something bad happening. Now I realize it was just an excuse, but it was an honest fear which lead me to where I am today, over weight, tired, unable to participate in certain things and embarrassed to try for fear of judgment.  As I work through and celebrate Isaac’s journey I know I have come to a point where I need to let go, the pain, fear, trauma, etc. I have always needed to let go, I just didn’t want to or know how.

I have made the commitment to lose weight and work towards a more healthier and fit me. I have tied in the Blue Slide Project to help motive me to stay on track. The Blue Slide Project is a wheelchair accessible playground at my son Isaac’s school. For those new to our story, Isaac was diagnosed with Stage 4 Neuroblastoma when he was just 3 1/2 months old. Two weeks after his diagnosis he was paralyzed when his tumor swelled causing a spinal cord injury. I started the project last year when I noticed the schools playground was not accessible to those who use mobility aids. We still need $62k for Phase 2 and I thought this would be a good way to raise money. I am asking for people to sponsor me in my weight-loss journey, as well as partner. It will work like a jog-a-thon, you can donate “per pound” or you can do a  “flat number”. An example of “per pound”, say you donate $1 dollar a pound and I lose 150 pounds that’s $150 dollars, you could also do per pound, up to a certain amount. An example of a flat number is if I lose 50 pounds, I get $50 dollars. All money donated will go to the construction of Phase 2 of the Blue Slide Project:)

I appreciate your encouragement, I feel like the more people who know about this challenge the more money the playground will get. Please feel free to share and join. If you are interested in sponsoring me, please email me at monapinon5@gmail.com your name, address, phone number  and type of sponsorship. You can mail donations to Parkside Elementary 735 Wagner Meadows Dr. Grants Pass, OR 97526, make check payable to Parkside PTA and note for Blue Slide Project. Also “like” us  and follow my progress on facebook, http://www.facebook.com/TheBlueSlideProject

“Commit everything you do to the Lord.
Trust him, and he will help you.
He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.”

Psalm 37:5-6

Mona

One Response to “My Challenge…”

  1. Mona Pinon February 26, 2014 at 7:08 am #

    Reblogged this on Real Mom of 5 and commented:

    One year ago yesterday I started this challenge, since then I have lost 147 pounds and I am just 12 pounds from reaching my goal. Never give up!

Leave a Reply

