Blue Slide Walk and Weight-loss from 5/14-5/21 and 5/21-28

28 May

Last week my weight was 243.2 with a loss of 2.8 and this week I weighted in at 240.6 with a loss of 2.6 YAY ME!!!! It’s coming off slow and I am not sure if I can reach my goal of 150 by my sisters wedding but I am going to try:)

Raising money for a wheelchair accessible playground is hard work, when you are a mom with 5 kids some days things can get overwhelming. Balancing family, fundraising and weight loss has been challenging, but I am determined to succeed in all areas of my life. I am very grateful for a husband who is 100% behind me and children who constantly tell me how proud they are of me. I hope I have made an impact in their lives and they grow up to be world changers!

Preparing to walk this 33 miles is teaching me a lot about myself and how much I know that God is with me. During training I am finding that walking long distances is hard on your body. You can’t just wake up one day and say, “I think I will walk 33 miles”.  If is hot out your body losses more sodium when you sweat, I found out the hard way that if you don’t replace it there are consequences.  Food to refuel your body, water, wearing the right shoes and clothes are so important.

I am not going to lie, I am so nervous and scared, but if I don’t try I will never know if it was possible and that scares me more. The pain I endure is nothing compared to what these children face every day. I hope that someone sees what are doing and helps us finish this playground. So this week as I prepare for the walk of my life with 5 of the greatest ladies I know, I am asking for you to please share this story. We are so close to Phase 2, the final phase of this project. I am looking forward to the day when ALL children can play together with no boundaries. Just think for a minute, if one day a note was sent home from school saying your child could not play on the playground, how would that make you feel? How many parents would be outraged? How many parents would work for change? When I noticed the school had pea gravel on the playground, it was like I got that note home from school. I will not rest until Isaac has the same opportunity to be a child, after all the only thing different about him is his wheels.

If you live in Grants Pass and want to be at the finish line listen in on KAJO 1270  and KLDR 98 to find out where we are. We would love to see all our friends and family at the finish line:)

If you would like more information on Blue Slide Project please visit us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/TheBlueSlideProject or to make a donation mail checks to Parkside Elementary 735 Wagner Meadows Drive, Grants Pass, OR 97526. Make checks payable to Parkside PTA and note for Blue Slide.

Please share these videos!!!

http://youtu.be/hSmQchoTMyA
http://youtu.be/a6OKmjUK9l8

Thank you for your support!!!

Mona

Leave a Reply

