Mentally prepared…

12 Oct

image

This blog entry was started about 2 months ago. I felt what I needed to share was important and I didn’t want it to be rushed. Life happens but when it slows down, one should take the time to finish what was started. Obesity is something that I have struggled with my entire life, it wasn’t until I started my journey in February that I realized I was an food addict. For 26 years I have been in bondage to food and it didn’t matter what I tried, I could not kick this habit. I feel like throughout my teen and adult life I have tried may ways to lose the extra weight I was carrying. I read all kinds of books, tried different programs, but it seemed the more I tried the less successful I was, why? It has obviously worked for other people, but why not me? I am sure you have all receive your revelation, but mine just came to me. One can be successful in any lose weight program if the person is mentally prepared to take on the challenge. I am not talking about those of you who have thyroid issues or things in your genes that cause your body to react different, I am talking about those of us who have tried everything under the sun and still remain overweight.

So how do you know if you are “mentally prepared”? Please remember I am NOT a Doctor or an expert in nutrition. The information I am sharing is from my experience, this is from a person who is overcoming a food addiction and so far has lost over 100 pounds. Reflecting on the last six months of my life, there was really nothing that could have prepared me for the things I was going to experience. A solid foundation is needed in everything you do in life, and there are 3 solid foundation pieces I feel have guided me throughout this journey. I am sure others can add to this list, but these three have helped me along the way.

First, I had to acknowledge I had a problem, some of us don’t realize that we have a food addiction until it’s too late. Really, think about it? No one wants to be 300 pounds!  I had a friend tell me, “no one aspires to be obese”. How true is that? You wake up one day and wonder what you have done to yourself. The thing is not to stay there, you have to reach deep down in you and pull the FIGHT out. I truly believe you can do anything in the world as long as you believe it can be done. Other wise you are double minded, I have looked to the Lord for strength many times and always come back to this verse.” But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do.” James 1:6-8 Don’t mean to get all “churchy” on you but it’s the truth.

Second, I had to realize that it was a life style change and NOT a diet. When you start reaching for those veggies at a party (if there is any) and not the alternative you know you have changed your lifestyle. Not saying you won’t be tempted by what’s in front of you but over all you don’t feel like you are missing out. The thought of eating Taco Bell or any fast food grosses me out and I am glad to be where I am. Recently, I had taken a friend out for her birthday and I was immediately drawn to the healthy options. It was a huge victory for me because my fear has always been that I would fall back to my old ways if given the option. I know it will not always be that way, but right now I just live one day at a time. Not looking back to my failures or ahead to the unknown, I will stay in this moment.

Third, I had to seriously stop making excuses for myself. My weight loss journey came as a result of losing my brother to obesity. My last blog I had talked about “food triggers” and a few weeks ago I had the opportunity to prove that I was able to control myself during stressful times. I had to take Isaac to his follow-up Oncology appointment and meet with the Pediatric Neurosurgeon in Portland, which is four hours from where we live in Grants Pass. This visit was a little different then previous, in the past I would make excuses for myself as to why I thought I should not stay on plan, after all I had been through so much. Not only did I stay “on plan” but I had reached a milestone of 100 pounds lost. It would have been so easy to make excuses, but it felt so good to reach my goal.

I am discovering things about myself that I never knew. My confidence is through the roof, and conquering this beast makes me feel unstoppable. I would not have been able to get this far without the support of my family, more specific my husband. John, your encouragement has been exactly what I needed to get through each day. My friends have also held me accountable and supported me by taking walks or giving me reminders. I love you all!!

In the past 8 months I have lost a total of 113 pounds. Back in February I started the Blue Slide Project weight-loss challenge. It has been one of my biggest motivators. Knowing that each pound I lost was another $1 for Parkside’s wheelchair accessible playground took things to a whole new level. Not only was I saving my life, I was helping my son and other children and adults in my community have the same opportunity as thier able bodied peers. The chance to play should not be something that a child has to fight for, so i will fight!

I went to my final weigh in at the Women’s Health Center on Tuesday (Melanie Turner who weighs me informed me that she wants to continue her support and weigh me for the next six months). Since the start of the challenge I have lost 93 pounds. Some people donated per pound and others a flat rate. Thank you to those who have already mailed in your donation. Our hope is to finish Phase 2 of the playground by May of next year. We are still in need of cash or in kind donations. If you are interested in helping the Blue Slide Project build Grants Pass and Josephine County’s ONLY All-inclusive playground you can message me or email monapinon5@gmail.com.

Donations can be mailed to:
Parkside Elementary
735 Wagner Meadows Dr.
Grants Pass, Or 97526

Make check payable to Parkside PTA and note for Blue Slide Project

Visit http://www.facebook.com/TheBlueSlideProject for more information.

3 Responses to “Mentally prepared…”

  1. Shelly Huffer October 13, 2013 at 7:34 am #

    Your story is an inspiration to many. Your going to be healthy for your family and your lifestyle change will bless your family forever. Your a great example to them and I am proud of you. I too am on my way to a lifestyle change. I have lost 30 lbs and am continuing to my right weight. Thank you for your blog of encouragement. 🙂

    • Mona Pinon October 27, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      Thank you so much! Great job, doesn’t it feel good to lose the baggage?

    • Mona Pinon November 24, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      Shelly, How are you doing? Any more loss? I am excited to know:)

Leave a Reply

