The Scale Does NOT Define Me…

15 Feb

Today is my weigh in for a weight-loss challenge that I am organizing (not to be confused with my Tuesday weight in at the Women’s Health Center), and I was up .8 oz from last week, but I have to tell you that the way I feel does not reflect the number on the scale. This past week I was able to do 100 squats with 20 pound weights, 100 bicep curls, Zumba, swimming and the list goes on. I am physically fit, living my life and I feel great!! I am at a point in my journey where I don’t depend on the scale to tell me that I am doing well. For example,  I bought  size medium leggings and a skirt too small on purpose so I could work my way into fitting in them( with the money I won from my last weight loss challenge). Last week they were too tight and yesterday I rocked my outfit, I loved the way I looked and I felt amazing. But the scale said I was heavier? So what? I know the workouts I did this week built muscle, I know since my pants are looser that I am losing inches, so I took what I knew and celebrated in all my victories.

 As women we are so critical of ourselves and I am learning to appreciate all that I have done for my health. I have spent the past year eating healthy and working towards what I thought was a number. So not the case, I have gained confidence in myself, I have changed my lifestyle and I learned that if I put my mind to doing something that anything is possible. Don’t get me wrong when you are over 300 pounds the scale becomes something you depend on because outwardly you see no difference. Honestly after I had lost 50 pounds is when I started to see a change. 

My friends, the scale will only be your buddy for so long, then you have to learn to be your own buddy and your own encouragement. Like I said in a previous blog, if you are chasing a number you will be chasing it for the rest of your life! Seek health and wellness be proud of your victories big or small and know that if you put your mind to it, ANYTHING is possible. Losing weight is such a roller coaster, having a food addiction is tough but choosing to make the right choices each day will get you to where you want to be. Your addiction to food does not have to be what ultimately takes your life, food addiction can be beaten and I am living proof. Be encouraged today!

Have a awesome weekend,  Love yourself enough to make the changes you need towards health. You can do it!!

Image

Mona

image

P.S. My honey is taking me out for Valentine’s Day, I know we are going to see a movie not sure what else, so excited!!!

2 Responses to “The Scale Does NOT Define Me…”

  1. aberka32 February 15, 2014 at 1:46 pm #

    you look great!!!

Leave a Reply

